“Funny when you’re dead, how people start listening”

All of my guy friends are officially all gay.  I find this funny.  A friend came out to me last night.  I’m really proud of him.  I don’t know if I could ever handle something like that.  With the whole bullying and coming out experience, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t survive.  It just really fucking sucks the opposition LGBT people face.  I find the bullying thing appalling.  How could anyone be that cruel to drive a person to suicide?  I guess they’re just better not coming out until after high school but what are you supposed to tell your teenager?  “You need to not be yourself until after graduation.”  How dumb is that?  I was reading Jamie Hubley’s blog last night and I was in tears as I listened to him sing “Born This Way,” by Lady Gaga.  The whole thing just makes me furious.  What is to be done though?  Making bullying illegal in school doesn’t even do anything.  People have the power of cyberbullying.  You could do it anonymously.  There’s no end to it.  Does it have to take death to make people stand up and say, “That’s enough”?

Leave a Reply

