Freaks of Nature

I had a conversation with my parents last night.

It was quite “deep.”

And about gay marriage.

I hate when my dad calls homosexuals “freaks of nature.”  You have no idea how much that makes me grit my teeth.

Basically, I told my parents I don’t understand why homosexuals can’t get married and they started into the whole “marriage is a religious union between a man and woman and the purpose is to procreate.”

Goodness.  I think they’re less Democratic than they would admit.

My mom said something along the lines of how she was a “little bit scared” that I was asking these questions after her and dad had sent me to a private Catholic school but could understand how I would ask these questions in college since I had taken courses like sociology and philosophy.

Then she said the sentence that made me boil.  “You should write down what you’ve said and then when you’re our age, pull your notes out and you’ll laugh and say, ‘I said/thought that?'”

Basically, my beliefs are childish and immature.  They don’t matter at all.

“As you grow older, you’ll get more conservative.”

Uhm, OK.

Even if I was still a Christian and supported gay marriage, would that make me any worse of a believer?

Marriage between a man and woman is outdated.

And fuck procreation.  There’s all sorts of birth control and “natural planning.”  Don’t you dare tell me that natural planning doesn’t fall under preventing unwanted children.  Just because it doesn’t involve rubber or pills…

We need less people in the world anyway.  Earth is getting too damn crowded.

Needless to say, I had a headache by the time this two hour conversation was over.

I didn’t say all of what I wanted to.

I didn’t ask my mom if she would stand in front of my gay guy friends (three of whom she knows and likes but doesn’t know they’re gay) and tell them they couldn’t get married.

Even my little brother supports gay marriage and he’s Christian still.

Lemme just say, I’m sorta glad I’m not gay because I don’t think my parents would ever recover.

Oh, and my mom thinks the gay population majority consists of choice versus natural.  *facepalm*

I agree, there are people out there who choose to be homosexual but in natural cases, you don’t just choose to be gay, just like you didn’t choose to be straight.

12 Responses

  1. Oh god! I know exactly how you feel. My parents are the same way, especially my dad. My dads a total extremist. According to him even inter-racial marriages, and inter-caste marriages are utterly unacceptable.

    I have no idea what I’m gonna do when I do finally fall in love or when I reach the age when I have to get married.

    My mom is pretty okay. She only has a thing against this one religion that I’m not going to mention but she’s justified to because of her experiences. I’m not saying that her opinion is correct, but life’s been a bitch to her and I can’t blame her being biased on that one thing.

    All in all. Im pretty screwed.

    • Haha, oh no! Are you Indian?

      • More or less, yes. 😛

      • That’s super cool!

      • Lol. How’s that cool? I mean, I’m proud to be an Indian and all. But I don’t think it’s “cool”. 😛

      • This was actually for my milestone post, but since you’re the first person to figure my nationality, I owe you an explanation. Here you go:

        I’m Indian by nationality and British by birth. I haven’t been brought up in either of the two countries. I was actually brought up in two entirely different countries. Go figure. I’ve only just recently relocated to India. I’ve been told that I can an “accent” but I’m not sure whether it’s British or America. So yeah. Huge personality crisis.

      • Okay, delete what I posted before. Sleep deprivation leads to excessive typos.

        “I’m Indian by nationality and British by birth. I haven’t been brought up in either of the two countries. I was actually brought up in two entirely different countries. Go figure. I’ve only just recently relocated to India. I’ve been told that I have an “accent” but I’m not sure whether it’s British or American. So yeah. Huge personality crisis.”

      • It probably sounds cliche, but India has one of the most richest cultures and I always think it would be awesome to travel there. How come you moved to India, if you don’t mind me asking? 😀 Haha, I’m Korean but I’ve never been there either.

      • You’re Korean? I lived in Seoul, South Korea! For four years! 😀

        Dad retired, so we moved back home. Dad’s a diplomat.

      • Haha, yep! Lucky 😀 A lot of people I know have been to Korea and it ain’t fair! Rawr.

  2. It sounds like I would have had trouble maintaining composure during this conversation. Some people will never understand homosexuality and most will never try. Facepalm indeed.

Leave a Reply

