I like being single, no, really…

Just finished watching “One Day” with Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess.  It was so good.  I cried.  I’ll spare the details though in case you watch it.  A line Emma (Hathaway) said was, “I’m not lonely, I’m alone.”  You hear it occasionally- that people only pretend to be happy while single because they have to save face and that’s the only future they’ll get.  To a degree, I’ll admit, I had/have my moments where I pretend to bask in my singleness while really envious of the surrounding couples.  I do want that special someone, I mean, it’s pretty expected and not something I can ever convince myself I don’t desire.  However, I’ll take advantage of the life I have now.  I have this thought I can’t shake off- the thought of finding myself, complete with self-love and acceptance.  All that jazz. 🙂 Even if I never end up with a significant other, I truly believe I’ll be happy with myself to the best of my ability.  I need to look into Buddhism and all the Zen related topics when I leave.

I watched “Eat, Pray, Love” last week.  Man, that film always teases my travel itch, well, the travel itch that has potential.  I have this vision that I’ll have an epiphany when I travel and reach those bounds of uncomfortable and the high one gets from constant culture shock and delving into the countries filled with rich and historical backgrounds.

So many of my friends are traveling overseas right now and words cannot describe how anxious I am to make my own journey.

 

2 Responses

  1. We’re young! Worry about guys and dating later. This is the best time in life to be single and free and have fun with no restrictions (except the legal ones).

Leave a Reply

